Ronald Cramer

Full Name
Prof.dr. R.J.F. Cramer
+31 20 592 4166
Scientific Staff Member, Professor - Universiteit Leiden, Group leader
Ronald Cramer




Ronald Cramer (PhD 1997 Amsterdam, MSc 1992 Leiden) is head (and founder) of the Cryptology research group at CWI, Amsterdam, The Netherlands and full professor (chair in cryptology) at the Mathematical Institute, Leiden University, The Netherlands, both since 1 June 2004. Cramer has held prior research positions at ETH Zurich (1997-2000) and at Aarhus University (2000-2004).

Visiting Positions


Since 2008 Cramer is a Visiting Professor at Division of Mathematical Sciences, NTU, Singapore. His prior visiting appointments include ENS (Rue d'Ulm, Paris), CRM (Barcelona), Complutense (Madrid), UPC (Barcelona), as well as an appointment as Visiting Distinguished Cryptographer at NTT Research Labs (Tokio).



Cramer's research focuses mostly on foundational and mathematical aspects of cryptology. He is perhaps best known for work on chosen-ciphertext security (Cramer-Shoup encryption, which is also an ISO standard, and invention of hash-proof systems), for work on the introduction and development of Sigma-protocol theory and of such notions as multiplicative secret sharing, arithmetic codices, pseudo-random secret sharing, algebraic manipulation detection codes, and for work on cryptographic protocol theory. Currently, he also focuses on algebraic aspects of lattice-based cryptography. He is an author of the textbook Secure Multi-Party and Secret Sharing (Cambridge, 2015), the first on the topic.

Honours and Awards:


Cramer is Member of the Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences (KNAW) (since 2013) and Fellow of IACR (since 2013). The citation reads: "For fundamental contributions to cryptography, for sustained educational leadership in cryptography, and for service to the IACR." IACR is the International Association for Cryptologic Research. He was awarded an ERC Advanced Investigator Grant (2016), is a co-recipient of an NWO Gravitation Grant (2016), was an Invited Speaker at the 30th Annual IACR EUROCRYPT (2011), won an NWO VICI senior career-development grant (2006), was elected to the 'De Jonge Akademie' (KNAW, 2005--2010), delivered the Distinguished Cryptographer Lecture Series at NTT in Tokio (2003) and won the KNAW Christiaan Huygens Award (1998) for his PhD-thesis.

Editorial Boards:


His editorial board memberships include Journal of Cryptology (Springer, 2001-2016), IEEE Transactions on Information Theory (2011-2014), Journal of Mathematical Cryptology (de Gruyter), Designs, Codes and Cryptography (Springer), and Journal of Algebra and Its Applications. He has served as Program Chair for 9th Annual TCC (2012), 11th Annual PKC (2008) and 24th Annual EUROCRYPT (2005).

Other Professional Service:


During 2005--2007, he served on the board of directors of the International Association for Cryptologic Research (IACR). During 2009--2015, he served on the advisory board of the Center for Advanced Security Research (CASED), Darmstadt, Germany. He also serves on the advisory board of the Springer Verlag Book Series on Cryptology and Information Security. He also serves or has served on several international Award Committees.


All publications


  • ESORICS Outstanding Research Award (2023)
  • Christiaan Huygens Prijs (1998)

Professional activities

  • Professor: Universiteit Leiden - [UL] -
  • Professor: Invited professor (since 2008) Nanyang Technological University (NTU), School of Physical and Mathematical Sciences, Singapore
  • Committee member: Information Security and Cryptology
  • Organizer: Co-Founder and Organizer of Symposium Series on PQC migration (w/ TNO).
  • Organizer: (Founder and Co-Organizer of the national RISC-seminar on cryptology
  • Editor: Series: Cryptology and Information Security Series
  • Editor: Journal: Journal of Mathematical Cryptology
  • Honorary Position: Member of the ᅠRoyal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences (KNAW).
  • Honorary Position: Fellow of the International Association for Cryptologic Research


  • NWO vrije competitie (2012)
  • STW Sentinels - Revocable Privacy (2010)
  • Vici Innovational Research Grant NWO (2006)
  • STW Sentinels - PASC (2005)