CWI Soirée and Van Wijngaarden Awards 2021

On Thursday 18 November 2021, CWI will present the Van Wijngaarden Award to a mathematician and a computer scientist of special significance during the festive Soirée.
  • What van Wijngaarden English
  • When 18-11-2021 from 19:00 to 22:00 (Europe/Amsterdam / UTC100)
  • Where Trippenhuis Amsterdam & streaming
  • Add event to calendar iCal

The Van Wijngaarden Awards 2021 are awarded to computer scientist Marta Kwiatkowska and mathematician Susan A. Murphy for the numerous and highly significant contributions they made to their respective research areas: preventing software faults and improving decision making in health.

The five-yearly award is established by CWI, the national research institute for mathematics and computer science in the Netherlands, and is named after former CWI director Aad van Wijngaarden. The winners receive the prize during a festive soirée on 18 November in Amsterdam. CWI will send personal invitations to those who are selected to attend the symposium. For others, a live stream of the soirée will be offered.

Preliminary program:
19.00 doors open
19.30 start & welcome
19.40 laudatio by Krzysztof Apt
19.45 award winner Marta Kwiatkowska
20.15 intermezzo
20.45 laudatio by Peter Grunwald
20.50 award winner Susan A. Murphy
21.20 - 22.30 drinks

The five-yearly Van Wijngaarden Award is named after Adriaan van Wijngaarden (1916–1987). Van Wijngaarden was directly involved in the introduction of the computer in the Netherlands and has been of invaluable importance for CWI and the evolution of the computer in our country. He is also one of the founders of computer science in the Netherlands and laid the foundation for several mainstream computer languages. Van Wijngaarden was the director of the Mathematical Center from 1961-1980, currently known as Centrum Wiskunde & Informatica (CWI). This year is the 75th anniversary year of CWI.

It is the fourth time the Van Wijngaarden Awards are awarded. Previous awards went to Nancy Lynch and Persi Diaconis (2006), Éva Tardos and John Butcher (2011) and Sara van de Geer and Xavier Leroy (2016). The Van Wijngaarden Award consists of a bronze sculpture by Hanneke van den Bergh.

More information: Marta Kwiatkowska and Susan Murphy win Van Wijngaarden Awards 2021 for preventing software faults and for improving decision making in health